Posted by: YogaEssence | August 5, 2011

Preparing to Win

As with most things, the MORE you do it, the EASIER it gets.  

Case in point: the other day (on a normal work day), I set a lofty goal to get up BEFORE work and go to the gym. The night before I got everything ready…gym bag, work clothes, showering supplies. I thought it was the perfect plan and would make better use of my time since I would be busy that evening.  

Then came morning.

Alarm blaring and all.

And thus began the fight from within to NOT get back in bed. It was a close fight, however the gym ultimately won out. The realization I have come to is that the first 5 minutes after the alarm sounds are always the hardest. Once you get going, it’s no sweat (figuratively speaking). It’s those first initial moments, when you still find yourself in a hazy dreamland, that disillusion seeps into your thoughts. That haze beckons you back to the bed. It’s a true battle in your mind to not give in to the haze.

So last night, like any good fighter, I started preparing for battle.  Gym bag came out of the closet. Work clothes were chosen and summoned to the bag. Showering supplies assembled. And the most challenging part: setting the alarm.  Then came morning. But remember the phrase: the more you do it, the easier it gets.  It was put into action. It was as if I won the fight before I was ever knocked down. Today, I am glad to say, was a much easier trek to the gym . Can’t wait for the next time!

Leave a Reply

Categories

